Peter S. Beagle & The Last Unicorn

5 Oct

Last week I had what seemed to be a one-in-a-Nerd’s-lifetime opportunity: a screening of The Last Unicorn and a chance to meet Peter S. Beagle in person! I bought the tickets as soon as they went on-sale (a month before) after checking the Last Unicorn Tour‘s website on a daily basis to keep myself updated.

I don’t know what I was most excited about– meeting such a prolific author that I admire or the opportunity to see the cause of my unicorn addiction on the big screen; though I am pretty sure both had the nerd-girl in me ecstatic.

Line opened at 1pm and I wasn’t too far behind, thankfully, so I was able to get in line and meet Mr. Peter S. Beagle before the screening. It was an experience. Everyone was just so sweet and nice, starting with Connor C., who talked to me as I was in line and calmed my nerd-nerves. I got a lovely unicorn circlet from Firefly Path, yet sadly I was not able to get the Last Unicorn edition. Let me tell you, I was in such a fan-girl mode that I was not able to say much when I got to Mr. Beagle. He was lovely though and agreed to take a picture with me after he signed my graphic novel, one of the posters I helped put up around NYC, and a special prezzie: one of the film pictures from the original film!

20131005_143947

1278075_10153264648810526_1769149609_o

Peter S. Beagle

After the line we went in to the theater for a raffle and the screening– sadly, I didn’t win anything, but the guy that was sitting next to me was nice and gave me the black poster of the anniversary edition. Thank you, again, nice person; it meant a lot! It was fantastic to watch the movie on a huge screen. It certainly sparked my obsession a bit more.

So I just want to say thank you, once again, to the magnificent staff for such a wonderful experience. I hope I get to see you, all, at NYCC again next week– and hopefully get more unicorn circlets and the beautiful amigurumi Princess Amalthea.

last unicorn

Love and Geek-out,

Nerdy Faery

Leave a Reply

