Late Post: Free Comic Book Day 2014

9 May

Hello, you wonderful people!

This past Saturday I was able to attend FCBD for the 5th year in a row- and quite happy I did, actually. Out of all the FCBD’s I have attended this was the most organized and well-thought-out of them all.

The day of I managed to wake up at 4am, leave by 5am, and got to Midtown Comics at 6am– and there were like 10 people lined up already! They started at 8am, promptly, and I got my baggie and a kids one, too, along with Mouse Guard. I love those. In total there were about 24 comic books. I was quite happy and surprised that they did it outside; it cut down on the time and the hassle of having to go up and down the small set of stairs… Even though I did go upstairs because: who can miss out on going to Midtown Comics when you are right there to begin with? It is one of my favorite places in NYC ❤

IMG_20140503_072206 IMG_20140505_102602
Part of the loot ❤

After the short trek, I headed to Forbidden Planet NYC- another favorite place in my beautiful city. There was already a line in which I was like no. 50 or so… They started moving around 9am and I kept seeing people walk out with this huge FPNYC bag. I was a tad worried I was not going to get one of those, and again I was happily surprised at how fast and organized the event was– not to mention mega-happy because I got a bag with like 60 comic books in it.

IMG_20140503_094203

After getting my bag I  stayed for Fred Van Lente’s signing which started at 10am- he had two comic books coming out for FCBD: PROJECT BLACK SKY and DEFEND COMICS. Then, I stayed for one more hour because at 11am Joe Mulvey was signing the FCBD edition of SCAM at 11am. I was second in line and hoping to be the first to answer a question Mulvey posted on twitter the night before in order to win an original piece of his artwork… imagine my sadness when the person who went first did. *tear* hahaha. Either way, though, I got to meet him and it was all wonderful.

IMG_20140509_151215 IMG_20140509_151250

It was a wonderful day, truly, and I cannot wait to see what they will have in store for next year’s FCBD. Congratulations to both, Midtown Comics and Forbidden Planet NYC, for holding a fantastic and smooth event. ❤

IMG_20140505_095728

If you want a list of all the comics that were given away for FCBD this year, you can find it HERE at the FCBD website. Did any of you attend the event? What did you think?

Also, do not forget the GIVEAWAY I am hosting HERE. (:

Leave a Reply

